Mustang Forums at StangNet

Shelby Turbo on Ebay

This is a discussion on Shelby Turbo on Ebay within the Classic Talk forums, part of the Classic Mustangs category; Have any of you classic guys got any info on this? Or is it a scam? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ONE-O...=p4506.c0.m245...

Go Back   Mustang Forums at StangNet > Mustang Forums > Classic Mustangs > Classic Talk

Over 151,000 Members!!

Register Vendors Garage FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-09, 11:33 AM
COBRAIIW's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 593
Shelby Turbo on Ebay

Have any of you classic guys got any info on this?
Or is it a scam?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ONE-O...=p4506.c0.m245
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-09, 12:43 PM
rbohm's Avatar
Founding Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: tucson,az/luray,va
Posts: 3,438
i think it is a scam as shelby had nothing to do with the mustang ll.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-09, 07:55 PM
wicked93gs's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 553
chances are its a scam...however, remember that in the 80s Shelby made quite a few turbo cars when h was working with Dodge...also some 1st gen mustangs were supercharged, shelby has always been fond of boosting cars...so it is a possibility, but I myself would need to see some documentation to prove it...also possibly a call to shelby for confirmation that such a thing existed, i would also want to see the turbo manifold....cast iron is a good indication of a factory manifold...a header type manifold might indicate custom fabrication(not to say that shelby doesnt make custom parts, but he has access to tooling for cast iron pieces)...regardless, most shelby cars have a plaque, or at the very least a signature on the dash somewhere

Last edited by wicked93gs; 08-26-09 at 08:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-09, 09:32 PM
Founding Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 535
LOL!! I love it!!

"...that I believe is one of only two that were made..."

"You won’t see another one like this!"



Maybe not a scam....maybe just ignorant....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-09, 08:59 PM
wicked93gs's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 553
early turbo systems tended to be draw-through...and that is a blow-through setup...not sure when it changed...I would say 98% possibility of being a scam...but its worth a closer look, get the vin first
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-09, 11:22 AM
Founding Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 535
A little more proof for your pudding. Brad seems to be a pretty thorough guy. I use this site to reference material all the time.

TheMustangSource.com | Timeline: 1977 Mustang

Shelby had no involvement in 1977. There was no turbo. Looks like it might be the wrong front splitter too. This guy is just trying to make some cash.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (52.8 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 PM.