Mustang Forums at StangNet

While doing research into power adders

This is a discussion on While doing research into power adders within the 2005 - 2009 GT Tech forums, part of the 2005 - 2009 (S-197) Mustang category; I came across this guy on ebay: link I wouldn't buy any of these kinds of things unless I heard ...

Go Back   Mustang Forums at StangNet > Mustang Forums > 2005 - 2009 (S-197) Mustang > 2005 - 2009 GT Tech

Over 151,000 Members!!

Register Vendors Garage FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 02:19 PM
Official Member
 
Join Date: October 2006
Location: Bridgeport, WV
Posts: 257
While doing research into power adders

I came across this guy on ebay:

link

I wouldn't buy any of these kinds of things unless I heard from many people more knowledgeable than I about them being ok, but what is their deal? What are they missing and how can they be made so cheaply when compared to the other big kits?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 02:57 PM
ct07gt's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Posts: 153
Never heard of them, one of the best Mustang tuners in the US is JDM in New Jersey, but it is not these guys. I do not see any other mention of the Mustang on the page besides the very top. Even if they are legit, and assuming it would fit, I am sure it does not come with a tune. The fact that it says "Universal Starter Turbo Piping Kit" is probably not a good sign either. I would take that to mean, "here are some pipes, see if you can make this work on your car, whatever that may be." I would steer clear of this one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2009
Location: Hughesville, MD
Posts: 38
theres no setup for the exhaust side, the piping is not gonna work without major modification, no tune, no injectors, no fuel pump or boost-a-pump, nothin. look up a turbo kit for any other vehicle and you will find it for around that price with similar stuff in it. Its just ebay junk to get stupid people to buy it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 08:02 PM
tommyroc's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: November 2006
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 391
Garage
Yes there is a import performance shop called JDM, not to be confused with JDM in Jersey. The products in that link are cheap Chinese made garbage
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 08:46 PM
walter's Avatar
Founding Member
 
Join Date: August 1998
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 815
STAY AWAY FROM CHEAP EBAY TURBOS!!!

I've seen way too many horror stories in my import days about those like how the welds come undone on the piping or how the compressor housing splits in half under boost that is if you're unlucky enough to have a kit that actually fits!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 08:59 PM
bradleyem's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 83
Hmmmmmm..............MIRAGE POWER........

From the ad: "NOTE: All of turbo parts and accessories do need to modification in order to fits perfectly. otherwise will list ABOVE." note the professional and knowledgable grammar.

I'm sure that their customers say:

"I could see those HUGE power gains just out of my reach............."

I call
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 09:07 PM
bradleyem's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 83
And considering that the same company sells THIS:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Elect...Q5fAccessories

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 09:30 PM
whyask's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 753
hahahaha! AKA a frkn hair dryer ! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-09, 10:21 PM
walter's Avatar
Founding Member
 
Join Date: August 1998
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 815
Wow I guess if you have a picture of 4 GT-R's in your shop that makes you legit..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-09, 07:32 AM
Wind-Farmer's Avatar
Official Member
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Garage
and I don't know what possibly they could be doing to the GT-R's...I think they are pretty supreme from factory. I have driven one...they don't need much, let alone the room in the engine bay.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-09, 07:32 PM
dacrush's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2009
Location: Denvuh
Posts: 4
Look closely at the engraved panel on the turbo- it says "JDM EVO"- not a good sign. Get quality, forget about this guy.
-Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.