1985 5.0 Cylinder ?

32ratrod

Nov 26, 2007
I measured the cylinders in my 302 and they are 4.005" is that enough to worry about boring and honing or is there a more economical way to go about closing up the gap. I am a college student and I dont want to spend the money if I dont have to. Thank You.

• Sponsors (?)

well if you bore it then you will need over sized pistons. honing normally just removes a miniumal amount of material so sometimes you are fine with a new set of springs... go get a 87 trough 92 engine.. better heads and you have eye browed pistions so you can run a bigger cam without valve to piston clearence issues.. jusy my opinion

ditto on the 87-93 engine or better yet would be an explorer motor. If you shop around they can all be found for a pretty decent price and the explorer will give you at least 80hp over stock.

I have the roller motor and I am putting the GT-40 iron heads on it. The pistons that are in it already do have the eyebrow reliefs in it. So since the cylinders measure 4.005" I should be good if I buy a new set of rings?

well if you bore it then you will need over sized pistons. honing normally just removes a miniumal amount of material so sometimes you are fine with a new set of springs... go get a 87 trough 92 engine.. better heads and you have eye browed pistions so you can run a bigger cam without valve to piston clearence issues.. jusy my opinion

ditto on the 87-93 engine or better yet would be an explorer motor. If you shop around they can all be found for a pretty decent price and the explorer will give you at least 80hp over stock.