Electrical 1996 Mustang Convertible Auto Power Window Drop- Please Help!

jammindj1

Jan 9, 2016
Hi. Newbie here. First post. Bought a 1996 mustang GT Convertible. 167,000 miles. Runs good. When I open the doors, the windows are supposed to drop a 1/2" to clear the top right? Mine don't. Went and read all kinds of posts that said how to reinitialize the smart window motors. Tried that, didn't do anything. Went back to the internet and read somewhere that that only works on 2005 and newer mustangs, NOT on 1996 mustangs. Right now I need to leave the windows cracked down about a 1/4" so it doesnt hang up on the top. Understand that the power windows work fine, go up, down, express down, all of that, they just don't "drop" automatically when the doors are opened... Is there a different rein itialize procedure for a 1996? Are 1996 windows supposed to drop?
Any and all help is greatly appreciated...
Thanks in advance...

1996 4.6L Mustang GT Convertible
Automatic, CAI,
Soon to be adding Flowmasters, Steeda Underdrive Pullies, 4.10 gears, and a tune.:grin:

• Sponsors (?)

No, that feature was added in 2005, started with S197. I have never seen it in an SN95 or New Edge.

Your top is sagging or your window gaskets need replacing (E-bay used ,kinda expensive cause they aren't making new ones) or your car is tweaked. Windows should fit tight and hold out rain or there an issue that needs fixing.