Progress Thread 2001 Gt Engine Swap To 2010 Crown Vic 4.6

Floyd the bear

Oct 23, 2016
I am new to the late model mustang world and taking this journey for my grandchildren.

The original 4.6 engine measured the coolant temperature at the intake and the factory new 2010 crown vic looks like it measures it under the intake.

My question is which is better? I like the idea of measuring the temperature at the block.

• Sponsors (?)

For the record the Crown Vic PCM monitors temperature at BOTH the coolant (ECT) and the cylinder head temperature (CHT). The PCM uses this data to better protect the motor from over heating.

Consider that the CHT does lag compared to the ECT. Which is why the Crown Vic monitors both.

The ECT does have the problem that it will read low IF the coolant level is low. Whereas the CHT will read correct.

BUT the Mustang PCM in the 4.6 doesn't have support for a cylinder head temperature sensor (CHT) so does it matter which is "better"?

Don't expect good results if you were to hook the ECT wire to the CHT.

Most people doing this swap either remove the CHT or just leave it unconnected.

image.jpeg
That's the reason why I asked the question, the intake has the boss area for the pipe thread but is not drilled or tapped. My thinking was they moved it to the cylinder head on the 2010.
I have attached a photo of the manifold.

Using this forum for information we have pulled the engine and transmission. Over the next few days we will swap the wiring harness, fuel injectors, flywheel and clutch.
Ran across one issue the egr tubing was cracked, in the past I would have plugged it and did an egr delete but reading an article in Stangnet showed me the benefits a good working egr.