2007 V6 Battery Draw (ignition Fuse)

Discussion in '2005 - 2014 Specific V6 Tech' started by armoredraven3, Sep 10, 2012.

1. armoredraven3

armoredraven3 New Member

Hey guys,

So I've had battery problems with my 2007 V6 Mustang for a long time now. For as long as I can remember now, I've been disconnecting the battery whenever I am planning on letting the car sit for more than a day. I've gone through at least 3 batteries now, and nothing is really changing.

So I finally got around to getting a multimeter to try to see if I could identify a battery drain myself. Here's how I set it up on the battery, just to make sure I'm doing the testing in an appropriate manner:
    Connected black cable to multimeter COM port, red cable to 10A port.
    Set multimeter to 10A setting (highest amp reading setting)
    Disconnected negative battery cable from post
    Complete battery circuit by connecting red cable to battery cable and black cable to battery post
    (I'm pretty new to this, so just lemme know if I should be doing it in another way)

So I let the car sit for a while and checked the multi meter reading. After everything went to sleep, it settled just around 0.15A, so just around 150mA going through the battery. Pretty sure that is too high to be normal drain on the battery.

What I did was just check the fuse box and started yanking away until I could see a measurable drop. I removed each fuse/relay individually, but none seemed to drop the drain at all, except for one - fuse #68. If I'm correct, that's the fuse for the ignition, right? Removing that one gave me a stable drain of 20ish mA. None of the other connectors would give me any measurable drop at all.