2013 Gt Skip Shift?

Discussion in '2010 - 2014 Specific Tech' started by 2003 Geee T, Feb 19, 2014.


  1. 2013 Geee T

    2013 Geee T Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    I just got a slightly used 2013 GT and I swear it has the skip shift feature. At low speeds and low RPMs it will go right to 4th from 1st and not let me go to 2nd no matter how hard I try. It only does it once in awhile and I cant reproduce it as of yet. I heard Ford got rid of the skip shift feature for 13-14 but mine was made in late 2012 so maybe its still there?

    It has a Hurst shifter which I'm not a fan of so I don't know if it could be related. Has anyone else experienced this and is there a way to tell for sure if its there or not?
  2. earleys94gt

    earleys94gt Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    49
  3. 2013 Geee T

    2013 Geee T Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
  4. FordCustSrvc

    FordCustSrvc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    19
    You’re correct, 2013 Geee T. 2013+ Mustangs don’t have this feature. I recommend you make an appointment with your dealer so they can check it out. Then, PM me with your VIN, dealer, mileage, full name, and best daytime number so I can escalate this for you.

    Deysha
  5. 2013 Geee T

    2013 Geee T Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19

    Do you have an idea of why this would be happening? I'm wondering if its the shifter itself which I think was installed by the dealer. The car is Ford certified and had the shifter when I got it so it should be covered. I want to put a MGW in there but worry that it will affect the warranty since it was installed by Ford.

    I also worry that they wont be able to reproduce it since I cant and it will be a waste of time taking it in.

Share This Page