3:73 Install??

• Sponsors (?)

I'd get FMS's. They're the same thing as FRPP but labeled differently. Motive's are ok too, but made overseas if that makes a difference to you.

I'm assuming since you're taking the job on yourself that you know what you're doing.. not probably something a person who doesn't feel comfortable with tools should tackle.. do your homework, get new parts (crush sleeves, etc) take your time, work in a clean space, and you'll be good.

sgarlic said:
I'd get FMS's. They're the same thing as FRPP but labeled differently. Motive's are ok too, but made overseas if that makes a difference to you.

I'm assuming since you're taking the job on yourself that you know what you're doing.. not probably something a person who doesn't feel comfortable with tools should tackle.. do your homework, get new parts (crush sleeves, etc) take your time, work in a clean space, and you'll be good.

I've never done anything like this before, but i do know my way around a tool box. I heard that if you don't do it right they'll whine so that's really why i was asking. i don't want to do it wrong

No offence, but you probably shouldn't do it yourself. If you want your rear end to work right and not "sing" then you should take it to a shop. There are specs you need to know and tools you will need that the normal do it yourselfer wont have. You dont want to ruin those nice new gears. And I went with ford racing 3:73's. I had a rear end guy at work install them cause I wanted them perfect. And dont think Im trying to hate on your skills, just trying to help.

I wouldn't recommend you do it either unless you're familiar with shimming gears down to a hundreth of a degree of correctness. If it's correct they'll not only whine but wear down A LOT quicker and will need to be replaced. I had to use a press for my install for the crush sleeve I believe. And of course, the shimming part is not easy.

2.jpg

oh and gear oil smells like some rotten booty