3.73's too much for a built engine?

Bigstang1

Founding Member
Aug 28, 2002
Massachusettes
Im sorry if this has been asked before but it seems that when ever i see a stang with a built motor (h/c/i) or a 351 they hardly ever run 3.73s with a 5 speed? Why is this? Is it because the motor has enough power not to need the extra gear? I am planning to get gears in the spring and was wondering what to go with if i will be building a motor eventually. i dont want to have to change them out again after i do up the motor. The car is street driven / daily driver in the summer. Any input would be great. thanks

• Sponsors (?)

well im by no means a pro.. a built motor for a daily driver. 3.73 should be fine. saves you on gas and u still get some extra "get up and go" type deal. most people use 4.10's, or so i've heard just so it can go faster. dont take my word for it, im just going on what i've been told. it all depends i guess on where you wanna go with the car. eventually make it a strip car? street/strip? or just a daily driver.

general rule of thumb is 3:55 or 3:73 for 5-speed, and 4:10 for auto.

some people use 3:55's in a manual like me, and some use 3:73. i got the car with 3:55's and have thought about going up to 3:73. you will want to keep 3:55 if your going to use a blower or possibly even an aggressive h/c/i car.

i do like 1800 rpm's at 80 with my 3:55's because of an extra low od, normally it would be around 2200ish, 3:73 would put you at 2400-2500 range. not sure if you drive on the freeway alot?

Actually I would say with most of the h/c/i cars on here they have 373's or above...

I have 373's on my h/c/i car and I drive it every day...I would say it is right around the perfect gear for the car...

2000rpm at 60mph...