300whp goal

50notchbk

Feb 7, 2006
I'm new to the stang world and now have my project car. My goals with this car a simple I guess. I want to keep it looking mainly stock, a T56 tranny, and 300hp NA to the wheels. I'm not a fool when it comes to wrenching on cars, but I know nothing about how to build a motor up. I can/have put them together and taken them apart, just never got into the rest of it. So here is my question after a long winded intro. What would it take for me to get the 300whp mark? I am open to getting an used motor and building it or if the price is decent a crate shortblock. I should also mention I will not be going to a strip it will just be a street car. Any idea on a cost for this too?

Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

To get 300whp out of an actual 302, you need a good set of heads (AFR165s/185s, Trick flow Twisted Wedge, Holly Systemax), a good intake (take your pick), the right cam, and an aftermarket exhaust system. Or you could go the forced induction route with a supercharger, nitrous, or turbo. Don't go for a crate motor, you can build it for less, and you probably won't make 300rwhp with 'em.

I've got a custom built 302 with the starter and all the bolt-ons for 2,500, and I'm tellin ya. You could part this thing out for more than 25-hundred. It would annihilate an FMS crate motor.

It also made nearly 320 to the wheels as it sits, which I can verify with an old dyno.

http://www.corral.net/forums/showthread.php?t=747348

Chris

blake89stang said:
it would take full suspension to propel a 300rwhp car into the 11's

438/504 only got my buddys 02 WS6 M6 into the 11.8@120 and he is a damn good driver but when he gets the DR's on(315/35/17) he'll be in the low 11's

That is in a heavy ass Trans AM, 438 hp and over 500 tq will propel a fox a little faster than that.

I am hoping the addition of Trick Flow heads and cam to my combo will send me over the 300rwhp mark. With a good tune hopefully I will make more power than my nitrous numbers