302 Computer on a 408?

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by hoopty5.0, Mar 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hoopty5.0

    hoopty5.0 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Likes Received:
    748
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    SW Houston
    I was told that I cannot run my 302 EFI computer/harness on my 408 "because the firing order is different" by a Ford "Expert". Is this true? I hadnt even thought about the 302 stuff not working on the 351. I'd rather not spend $4,000 on a F.A.S.T. Kit. Thanks guys.

    - Collin
     
    #1
  2. stykthyn

    stykthyn Commander of the snuggie cultists

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,163
    Likes Received:
    602
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    gainesville
    It won't work without some serious tuning.
     
    #2
  3. 1bad67sbf

    1bad67sbf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Showcase:
    61
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    N. VA
    can you run a 302 cam to change the firing order or is it more based on the ecu not keeping the A/F ratio?
     
    #3
  4. stykthyn

    stykthyn Commander of the snuggie cultists

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,163
    Likes Received:
    602
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    gainesville
    More of the latter
     
    #4
  5. 68stang351

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Savoy TX
    The 302 HO and 351w firing order is the same, so firing order doesn't matter.

    You can use it, but will probably need a tweecer or some good tuning like Stykthyn said.
     
    #5
  6. hoopty5.0

    hoopty5.0 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Likes Received:
    748
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    SW Houston
    Well as long as I dont have to shell out 4 grand for an aftermarket system, tuning was always in the plans. What do most people do that run efi 408s?


    Or, will a 351w ecu plug in to the 302 harness? Would I need a new engine harness also? I looked at SMOKEDYA's build thread but didnt see anything specific. I'll keep looking around.

    Trying not to run a carb. I have to pass emissions for 3 more years until the car qualifies as an antique vehicle.
     
    #6
  7. 2000xp8

    2000xp8 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,517
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    NJ
    You can run the stock computer just fine.
    It's done all the time without tuning equipment or programs.

    a 351 based engine is really just a bigger 302.
     
    #7
  8. SMOKEDYA

    SMOKEDYA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    WORSHINGTON
    You must be the "expert" he talked to :nono:
    As far as tunning run the stock A9L computer and harness and use A SCT chip all will be good.Also when you order your cam get it to use the current 5.0 fireing order and once again all is good.I went threw this exact same thing when doing my 351 based motor! BUT if you use the old firing order you will need to repin the harness!So much easier to get the cam for the current 5.0 HO order.peace










    john:p
     
    #8
  9. SMOKEDYA

    SMOKEDYA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    WORSHINGTON
    One other thing tho as far as emisions.....you might not pass if you dont have carbed approved stuff,and emisions equiptment?Running a 408 might be hard to get to pass,maybe pass with the 302 then replace it with the 408 afterwards?????? Just take the chip out with the 302 and then reinstall it with the 408.REMEMBER DONT REMOVE THE CHIP WITH POWER TO THE CAR.peace



    john:p
     
    #9
  10. Boosted92LX

    Boosted92LX Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    174
    ^^^^I can vouch for this. When the HO 302 was put out there they used 351w firing order for some strange reason.

    origional 289/302 was:15426378

    351w and ho 302 was:13726548

    camshafts for ho302 and 351w are same same. dunnit.
     
    #10
  11. jrichker

    jrichker StangNet's favorite TOOL
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    21,968
    Likes Received:
    423
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    Dublin GA
    A 408 or 410 with a 302 HO computer has been done and vristang (Jason) in the 5.0 Tuning forum has one that he drives on a regular basis. PM him or visit the 5.0 Tuning forum for some idea and help.
     
    #11
  12. hoopty5.0

    hoopty5.0 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Likes Received:
    748
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    SW Houston
    Thanks guys. Y'all saved me alot of worries!
     
    #12
  13. stykthyn

    stykthyn Commander of the snuggie cultists

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,163
    Likes Received:
    602
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    gainesville
    I never claim to be an expert and I've personally never seen a 351 based stroker run WITHOUT a tune. Hence my reply. I will gladly as always defer to those more knowledgeable.
     
    #13
  14. NIKwoaC

    NIKwoaC 中國製造

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    164
    Location:
    Chengdu Province
    It seems like getting a 408 to run well without a tune would seriously depend on using a really good "calibrated" MAF meter and correct injectors. Otherwise, you'll probably be SOL without tuning. Of course, there are lots of guys who FUBAR the whole MAF meter/injector thing on otherwise very mild 302s and they still don't run right without tuning.
     
    #14
  15. 1970stang302

    1970stang302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goshen NH
    can i take a 302 out of my 1970 mustang and replace it with one out of a 1989 bronco without running into a lot of problems
     
    #15
  16. 90lxcoupe

    90lxcoupe Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    84
    Aftermarket ECU's are not anywhere near 4k.

    You can get a complete big stuff setup for way under 2500 and Megasquirt 3 for 600.

    Ill be going with megasquirt this summer.
     
    #16
  17. Boosted92LX

    Boosted92LX Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Only if you give me the mustang.
     
    #17
  18. NIKwoaC

    NIKwoaC 中國製造

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    164
    Location:
    Chengdu Province
    Not quite sure what you're trying to say there...?
     
    #18
  19. 2000xp8

    2000xp8 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,517
    Likes Received:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    NJ
    While at my buddies shop today i asked what they do for the 351 computer situation.
    They said they do nothing, it isn't necessary and if you use the right parts and assemble it correctly there should be no problems.

    As always though a good Mass air meter and the right injectors are needed, but if you guys don't know that already and you are working on 351 based engines in a fox, somewhere along the lines you didn't pay good attention.
     
    #19
    OonDeanisS likes this.
  20. SMOKEDYA

    SMOKEDYA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,647
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    WORSHINGTON
    Sorry i could sworn i seen you talked to an expert?But that was hoopty5.0 tht said that.My bad! :nonono: :nice:

    Matching MAF and injectors will still possibly need a chip tho :shrug:I'm asking NOT questioning you two.I used a LMAF and 42's on my N/A 351,but then again it wasent a 408 either. peace









    john:p
     
    #20
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page