306+what= 325 streetable horsepower

Discussion in '1994 - 1995 Specific Tech' started by mytight95, Sep 4, 2005.

1. mytight95

mytight95 Active Member

Ok guys now i have been saving for a set of 165's for a couple months, tired of playing around with these factory heads, but i am wondering. I have a block in the shop, and was planning on building either a 306 or 347........306 wouldn't wreak as much havoc on my budget. So here are some questions, i would like answers, links, or general opinions etc..

Can i take a 306 with around 10:1 compression, a set of AFR 165's, a good cam, and either an Edelbrock performer or Performer RPM, and make 325-350 at the wheels with a streetable combo, (with tuning of course),.

If so what kind of cam would i have to have CUSTOM or what? I know FTI would be a very good option, but could it be done without a custom cam....

Would this motor be pretty reliable, say if i wanted to go on a road trip etc..... 2-300 miles tops...

Is anyone putting up these kinds of numbers with just a 306 or is it gonna take the extra cubic inches that a 347 has to make that kind of power.....

What are some good options for pistons etc., what are the bets kind of rings etc..., i know people are gonna say just buy a shortblock, but i am planning on taking the time and making this the first motor that i have built......I will have local help if needed, one of my buds works at our local machine shop, so if all else fails he will finish the assembly....

Anyhow, i guess thats all i can come up with for now, Sorry So Long, imput is much appreciated.

jason
  2. 94GTLaserRC

94GTLaserRC Squint as you approach, lest you be blinded by my

I dont know what the EXACT HP will be. With the right combo and the 306, I dont see why not. Either way, it will be a fun car to drive...12's are attainable.

RC
  3. mytight95

mytight95 Active Member