347 With 192 Canfields Tune Question

Aug 9, 2013
I am new to fords. I recently purchased an 89 gt with a 347 stroker that has 192 canfield heads 58 cc milled to 54cc. It has a cobra intake 75 mm tb 1 5/8 equal length headers flowmasters but the car has stock injectors and mass air. Will this be an issue and how would I tune it. It runs good but i hear there is alot left on the table.

• Sponsors (?)

Do you know what cam is in it. Any chip installed. What is your timing set at.

The cobra intake , shorty headers, stock 19lb injectors and MAF are choking that motor. Sounds like a bunch of mismatched parts thrown together.

I traded for the car. Im not sure on the cam specs but it had a blown head gasket. I had the heads milled, measured the stroke etc. The lady i got the car from got it in a divorce. The math comes out to a 560 lift cam on intake, I honestly didnt mic the exhaust side. How would i tell if there is a chip in it? It may sound stupid but i,ve raced sbc is all.

should i get the injectors and maf or ditch the intake and get the exact cam specs. And go from there? Im going to call the shop that did my dyno tune on my camaro in the am to see if he will or can tune it.

30 lb injectors, bigger fuel pump, and calibrated MAF are what I would do. You may even be able to get away with 24's but I'm not 100% sure. Someone more knowledgeable would have to come in and let ya know for sure.

Your ECU is located in the passenger's kick panel. Take it out, with battery disconnected, and look at the ECU. If there is a chip in it, it will be sticking out of the back side of the computer.

I assume you measured 3.4 inch stroke? If it is a 347, you definetly need a better intake, larger injectors (30lb at least) a larger mass air calibrated for your injector size, and an upgraded fuel pump (155 or larger).

The car can run with what you have, but performance will suffer with those small parts. A 347 is a great start, and the Canfields are good heads. It's a good start.