Engine 351c Backfiring/ And Not Running At Idle

chad ruehlen

May 22, 2013
berthoud, co
Howdy I'm brand new to stangnet so first just wanted to say hi, and thanks for all the help i have received in the past from reading/ learning from all of your post. I am a junior mechanic so I'm really still learning everything and hopefully one day be able to help others.

As to my problem I recently rebuilt my running 72mustang swapping my 2v heads with some pro rebuilt 4v heads/ headers/ edelbrock airgap manifold/ and a new msd ready to run distributor with a blaster 2 coil. The car will not idle/ will run at 4000rpm and anything less will sputter/ then die/ usually shooting gas in my face.

I have tried putting the distributor in everyway i can think of and no luck. Last night i pulled the #1 plug cranked it over until it blew my finger, than stuck a plastic rod in the hole to quadruple check that i was at tdc, than lined up my #1 wire on the msd and still not running. I also could not find any vacuum leaks spraying starter fluid around the motor while running

I checked my compression and all cylinders read 127-130.

If anyone has any advice for me please let me know. I've been stumped for a month now and i hate losing battles with my beloved car that i have owned for 13 years

351c
eldlebrock 600 performer carb tried my holley 700 too
harland sharp rockers
hooker headers
lunati cam Adv. Duration 290/300, Lift .536/.562,

• Sponsors (?)

Hi,
You state you have the #1 @ TDC. verify that both valves are completely closed. If so, re-check your plug wiring, there may be two or more crossed. Where is your initial timing set? How many turns out, are the mix needles? Does it not idle at all?
If it's backfiring through the carb, It's typically a timing issue, as was mentioned.

Reactions: 1 user