5.0 engine stumble issue I cant find a answer to

63bird390

Nov 24, 2008
San Antonio TX
ok i have a 68 mustang that i converted to a efi and t5 5 speed. the short block is a stock 93 mustang 302 with about 80,000 miles on it. heads are gt40 cobra heads. i have a E-303 cam roller 1.6 rockers. explorer intake 65 mm tb 19 lb injectors, A9P ecm, 70 mm mass air for 19 lb injectors. this thing has ran great for over a year it even smokes the new camaro ss. ........

heres the problem it has a stumble it dont matter if cold or warm. under about 2300 rpm is usually ok. but on moderate to hard acelleration it will stumble or just die for a split second wich makes the car buck as if im a first time stick driver its umbarrasinging.
so far i have checked the fuel pressure its at 35 at idle and reving the engine it goes to about 40-42 so from some research i did i changed the tfi module on the distrubitor and the pickup coil. it has a smother idle but still dies and bucks. i want to accuse ignition but the distrubitor is all new and i have a msd coil. i changed the fuel filter for the heck of it too. the car idles very good low rpms are usually ok but a little gas and it starts dieing out.

i was thinking is there a fuel pressure guage i can run to the schrader valve on the fuel rail to see the pressure wile im driving?

please let me know what you think i did a lot of research and so far no good.

• Sponsors (?)

Are there any codes?

Have you looked for cross-firing or leaking plug wires?

Has the TPS been checked - ensuring no breaks in the reading while in that spot where it tries to hiccup on you?

Good luck.

codes and wires