5W20 or 5W30

Newbie here ready to change the oil in my 02, that has 50K miles and the previous owner did the quick lube method of cheap oil.

I'm a synthetic guy and wonder how much difference there is between the different oil viscocities. Anybody using 5w30? It's plenty warm in FL do that should not be a problem.

And any thoughts on a flush before the change?

• Sponsors (?)

Use what the sticker under the hood recommends. Don't play around with different weights with MOD motors.

Don't flush the motor either. That just takes any crap inside and puts it somehwere else...like your oil pump...then your motor could go bad.

My owners manual says to use motorcraft 5w20 full synthetic. However I use the Mobil 1 5w20 because there is no difference to me and mobil 1 is easier to get where I live. I have used 5w30 mobil 1 in the past and had no problems with it.

99-00 Mustang GT's ask for 5w30. 01-04 Mustang GT's ask for 5W20.

Waaaaay back in the day, there was a thread here or somewhere else about a guy with a 99 Cobra/01 Cobra who used 10w30 in the car because he was "hard" on it. Well the dealer proved it starved the heads from oil and proved the oil was in fact 10w30. They voided his warrenty.

Since then, I use what Ford says.

99-00 Mustang GT's ask for 5w30. 01-04 Mustang GT's ask for 5W20.
And the best part about it is, is there's not a damn bit of difference in the tolerances of the engines. In all honesty, Ford probably went with the 5W20 synthetic because they likely buy it cheaper in bulk....and putting the word synthetic in front of it allowed them to move oil change intervals from 5,000km to 8,000-10,000km between changes.

Waaaaay back in the day, there was a thread here or somewhere else about a guy with a 99 Cobra/01 Cobra who used 10w30 in the car because he was "hard" on it. Well the dealer proved it starved the heads from oil and proved the oil was in fact 10w30. They voided his warrenty.

Since then, I use what Ford says.