65 Fastback 4.6 DOHC Turbo Progress Pics

Discussion in 'Classic Mustang Specific Tech' started by co6b5ra, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. co6b5ra

    co6b5ra Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    bettendorf IA

    Thanks for the compliments, I have been working on wiring the pig up so no new pics yet. I hope to fire it in a week or so, then it gets torn back apart to get the engine bay painted.
     
    #41
  2. PM 65

    PM 65 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Austria (Europe)
    good work and nice project!
     
    #42
  3. gonzothegreat

    gonzothegreat Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London (uk)
    I guess you're going to use hood pins to secure your hood. Or are you going to setup something else?
    [​IMG]
     
    #43
  4. co6b5ra

    co6b5ra Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    bettendorf IA
    I have actually done a little work on the car, so I thought I'd put up a few pics. I took everything apart and painted, and am now doing final assembly!!! Got my carb back from CSU yesterday.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I am now taking donations to get the body work done ;D ;D
     
    #44
  5. mrmustangman357

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    did you fire it up yet? what is the status on the rest of your drivetrain?
     
    #45
  6. 10secgoal

    10secgoal Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    San Diego
    Look sgood. A 20x6in core on the IC ?
     
    #46
  7. rbohm

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,393
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    tucson,az
    co6b5ra, nice job on the car. i think the only change i would make is rather than use the four link i would use a torque arm rear suspension given the amount of power you are likely to be putting down.

    as for the power block, i have been watching the shows since they first formed the power block, and i have been watching horsepower tv since it forst came on, when it was nhra today and RC bannon was one of the hosts(i met him once when he was taking his daughters mustang to a dealer he owned in california to be sold). of course spike tv was known by a different name then, the nashville network as i recall. kevin, you guys have maintained the level of quality on trucks that stacy david built when the show first came on, great job to you, and i hope you stay around for a long time to come.
     
    #47
  8. brianj5600

    brianj5600 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Middle TN
    I missed where Power Block was brought up.
     
    #48
  9. thekid760

    thekid760 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you make that gauge cluster yourself?

    I want one!

    Looks very nice.
     
    #49
  10. joedokes28

    joedokes28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Photown, Az
    Engine bay looks great! Keep the pics and progress coming.
     
    #50
  11. wicked93gs

    wicked93gs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    I'm currently working on a similar setup(EFI though) just wondering if you had a better picture of the master cylinder area...manual brakes I'm assuming....I saw this dual master cylnder setup in the NPD catalog I would love to try if there is enough room, the caris looking great btw....let us know how it handles when its finished
     
    #51
  12. Wicked65

    Wicked65 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    NORCAL
    Where does one find a DOHC Carb intake at? Who makes it?
     
    #52
  13. wicked93gs

    wicked93gs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    I know a lot of you like carbs, but why would you want to lose the efficiency and versatility of EFI? if its just the look, get a TBI setup(to use on a carb manifold)
     
    #53
  14. rusty428cj

    rusty428cj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Port Richey Fl
    #54
  15. mustbereel

    mustbereel Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Never mind. I linked to KarKraft but they have discontinued their Modular Carb parts.
     
    #55
  16. 10secgoal

    10secgoal Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    San Diego
    There isn't a HUGE difference. At least not most are willing to spend K's for, me included. Some can't build their own MS, so the cost is huge. Only real reason I'm doing it is all the stuff I wanted to data log, and timing I wanted to change. You can do that with a carb too, but by the time to do so, the cost is almost equal to low buck EFI. Carb-350 plus home mods, EFI-1500-2k with MS system.
     
    #56
  17. wicked93gs

    wicked93gs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    1500? only if its not well planned out in advance and you don't scrounge for deals, regardless though I wasn't really talking about converting from carb to EFI(which really doesn't mystify me, the carb setup is simpler and cheaper, no doubt) I was curious as to why you would take an engine that is EFI stock and convert it to a carb setup at greater cost and complication, not to say it isn't neat to see. I am actually a fan of carbs in a turbo setup, tuning boost with a carb in some ways is easier since you don't need to continually flash new tunes into the ECU or mess about on a laptop all the time, however, even the best carb can't adjust as well or as quickly to changing driving situations. If I was building a drag turbo car, a carb would actually be high on the list, but if its a daily driver and came with EFI to begin with...I don't think so, both power and fuel efficiency are higher with EFI(though not extremely so)
     
    #57
  18. brianj5600

    brianj5600 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Middle TN
    EFI is only as good as the tuner. Same for a carburetor.
     
    #58
  19. Wicked65

    Wicked65 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    NORCAL
    Not to mention, if its going in a classic, that last thing i want to deal with is 50lbs of wiring and computer sensors and BS. Carb is easy, and clean.
     
    #59
  20. Steve S

    Steve S New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow what a car.....

    Keep up the good work.

    Steve
     
    #60

Share This Page