69 mustang shaker hood scoop question

Discussion in 'Classic Mustang Specific Tech' started by simplyJ, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. simplyJ

    simplyJ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    my current hood has the non functional hoodscoop but I really want to install a shaker. Do I need to get a new hood because of the holes from the hood scoop screws or can those be welded shut? I've heard in the past that it's rather difficult to do repairs on hoods because they warp easily.
     
    #1
  2. gsxrken

    gsxrken Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Weschester County, NY
    I think you answered your own question- they are tough to get right, and you really need to get it looking right from underneath too so you can pop the hood without looking like a butcher. At the end of the day, for the $400, a new hood is your best bet.
    Shakers are cool!
     
    #2
  3. 69Rcode_Mach1

    69Rcode_Mach1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Shakers rule, I wanted to put one on mine, but it is a pain in the ass if you are going to go with intake manifold. The high rise manifolds will give you some bad clearance issues. Shakers are nice if you have time and expertise to customize something which we are planning in another thread, or if you are leaving it bone stock. I hear that you can get some clearance if you get some special drop motor mounts.
     
    #3
  4. simplyJ

    simplyJ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    actually I'm planning on installing a shaker system from CDC it on top of a 4.6L DOHC :) I'm going with the martz mII front end so I should have a little leeway with engine placement.
    here's it done on a 70 fastback. I emailed the guy as to the details. I'm waiting for a response. He actually doesn't live to far from me so I'm hoping to get a chance to go look at his setup in person.
    [​IMG]
     
    #4
  5. jerry S

    jerry S New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52.22N 5.12E
    ARe you sure that is a 1970? Where are the shock towers?

    I looked into it and it is a $500+ piece of bling. There is still no real engineering proof that the shaker system gives you any performance benefit. And retrofitting is supposed to be a pain. Having said that, I am opening my hood under my 69 Mach 1 and adding a Boss 429 hood scoop only I have dropped plans to add a shaker.

    Just my $.02
     
    #5
  6. simplyJ

    simplyJ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    shock towers have been removed to fit the 4.6L dohc. this is what I am planning on doing as well. And when dropping that much money I might as well spend another 500 to make sure I do it how I like it.
     
    #6
  7. NasaGT

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    Virginia
    Is that a 96-98 DOHC Mod motor? It doesn't have coil on plug setup.

    I love the look of that engine bay with no shock towers. Someone did a nice job there, it looks all stock. :nice:
     
    #7

Share This Page