84 Mustang Cd Player Harness Or Not..

Discussion in 'Mustang Sound & Shine All' started by 85rkyboby, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. 85rkyboby

    85rkyboby Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    879
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    South ATL
    Hey guys,

    I'm working on installing speakers in the 84 I just got done putting together. I love my tunes! Well I had to order a new harness for my CD Player, since the wires were about half an inch long when I pulled it from the last car. I was checking to see if I should order a new harness for the car itself. Now here's my problem. I don't see any wires(harness) where there normally is wires(harness). I took a picture of the only connectors and loose wires that are left. Scares the **** out of me when I see open wires. I cut them and so they are no longer open. I do have a book to look at the schematics, but if anyone knows off the top of their head that would be great.

    Thanks,
    Garrick A.R.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,630
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,679
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    You are probably not going to like my answer...

    Yep... you need a wiring diagram to figure that all out.
    Were it me, I'd rip ALL of that crap out of there and rewire it.

    Do you know if you still have the factory amp in the dash? Did your specific year even come with them?

    Regardless, a more modern head unit may very well want different/better wiring.
     
    #2
  3. 85rkyboby

    85rkyboby Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    879
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    South ATL
    Alright, I'll dive into it. I just got done learning the ways of the window switches, locks, and lights so I'm fairly confident. I think I'm just going to run all new wires, 12v, accessories, speakers, etc. I was just hoping to avoid more wiring.

    I am not sure about the amp in the dash. I'm using all after-market goodies so it shouldn't be a problem. :D

    Thanks bud.
     
    #3
  4. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,630
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,679
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    Yeah man. Don't forget to draw up your own wire color chart so that you're not scratching your head later.
     
    #4
  5. 85rkyboby

    85rkyboby Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    879
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    South ATL
    Thanks for the tip. I got a "few" spools of various colored wires.
     
    #5

Share This Page