88 fox project build ideas

96_Stang-a-roo

Founding Member
Sep 2, 2002
88 fox project build ideas - With Pics

Hey, this is my first time posting in the 5.0 section. I Just traded my 96 for a 88 lx fox rolling chassis... very race ready down to the skinnies and stickies. Only thing missing is motor/tranny. Complete otherwise down to A-1000 setup and cage. just trying to get some build ideas/opinions/ect. I'm leaning towards a 351 block (W or C i dunno) with a big turbo and a nice stroker kit (carb only, btw). It had a c4 but i've always been a straight drive kinda guy. We're talking big numbers here, though. So lay it on me... be as brief or in depth as you like... down to what kinda rings or cam profile you would use or as general as what size motor you think. Thanks in advance for the replies...

maybe i should change my name now to 88_Stang-a-roo...:D

• Sponsors (?)

Here are some pics of it...

437768081_l.jpg

437768914_l.jpg

My suggestion, call Rick.

I would do a stroked 351 based off a Dart block. Then, pick your power adder. Build a nice C4 and take it to the track!!

That car looks awesome. Good luck with the build.

thanks for the replies! What's the difference between a Dart block and other 351 blocks? Does the Dart have a 4 bolt? What kind of heads/cam combo's would ya'll think for a power adder such as this? Also, how would ya'll go about doing the rotating assembly? I've seen alot of stroker kits on ebay for good prices (hence the reason i went pushrod)... what kind of internals would ya'll do for 600-1100hp range (big range i know... nothing less than 600 and nothing more than 1100... perfect would be 900ish rwhp). What about stroker 460's? Alot of questions, i know... keep the suggestions coming!