94 gt motor vibration

texmirage

Dec 28, 2007
Sorry about this repost.... put it in the wrong section.
Background on me:
Had this mustang for about 6 years. Never had to work on it cuz nothing ever broke, so I have limited knowledge about mustangs. Was into DSM's then motorcycles. Now I decided to start modding the mustang with some basic mods. .
Back ground on the car:

5.0 5 speed. 270k on the original motor. x pipe,flow, msd blaster. Car was running fine. The other day I go it alittle comming out of a parking lot. Car sounded like a pop out of the exhaust. Looked back and alot of black smoke, like a 18wheeler. It is not smoking or lossing water now. Any way now the motor vibrates hard under accelleration idles ruff. Plug spark is good. They look like they are burning good.

Do these motors jump timming?

In all honesty, it feels like something is out of balance. but not sure what to look for.

one more thing I forgot to mention....
if I rev it hard I hear whinning or draggin noise as the RPM's fall. it coming from right behind the curve going into the intake.
then I ran across this on you tube
"does it want to stutter when its first started or when u put it in the gear those are common symptoms of your idle air controller going bad"

I Sorry for not discribing this very well. and thanks any help up front

• Sponsors (?)

check your balancer to make sure it is good. make sure there is no rubber pushing out. i doubt the IAC would contribute to the black smoke. you could also do a compression check to make sure nothing internal went pop.

Check the timing.
If it is not where you last put it, the outer ring of the balancer spun.

The timing chain is a possible culprit, but if they jump, it's usually enough to keep the engine from running.

The IAC symptoms you mention are not as severe as what you describe.

I am with killer and think your balancer ring spun.
If so, it's time for a balancer.

My 94 did it when I hit a bump, and began shaking the engine a bit.