94 stalling/idle/vibration

94-Stang

Mar 2, 2009
Hello,
im new to these fourms.
I've had my 1994 mustang (auto) for a couple months when recently this month i've begun to run into some problems.

1. (idle drop while driving)
while driving my idle will drop from say 1000 to 500 and then back up. this isn't something that happens consistently and the car will run normal after it happens.
on occasion it does it a couple times in 1 drive.

2.( idle drop while stopped, and car stalls)
this has just been happening to me for about the past 2 weeks now.
i'll come to a stop and my idle drops completely and stalls or comes so close to stalling that i have to save it by giving it gas.
now this doesn't always happen, there are times when it runs perfect with no problems but it does this at least once or twice a day.
recently it stalled twice on me while at a red light, after that i drove it home with no more idle drops,stalling etc.

one last thing, im also getting a really loud vibrating noise when driving and i push down on the gas, but when i let go it stops. its coming from the right passenger side of the car, not quite sure if its in the front or the rear.

I've searched throughout google and have not found 1 person that had the exact problem as me. There we're a few fourms with people who have had similar problems though, and they were suggested things such as TPS,MAF, etc.

what would be causing this?

• Sponsors (?)

The idle problem sounds like it may be the Idle Air Control (IAC) sensor.This sonsor controls how much air enters the intake while you are idling or coasting (on Auto trans).It keeps the engine RPM's at a certain level to prevent it from stalling out.It would more than likely be occuring when the engine isn't fully warmed up.If your idle stop screw is set properly,it won't stall out on you when the engine is warmed up.On the other hand,you shouldn't have to make any adjustments to this screw unless the previous owner messed around with it.