Drivetrain 95 Gt Koeo Test

Discussion in '1994 - 1995 Specific Tech' started by DougCS, Oct 20, 2013.


  1. DougCS

    DougCS New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    Huachuca City Arizona
    The AODE transmission would not shift and the speedometer stopped working, the KOEO tests showed that speed sensor, range selector and temperature sensor out of voltage range. Replaced all except temp sensor (don't know where it is located). Transmission shifts fine now but still receiving temperature voltage out of range and range selector not in park, but it is a new range selector and adjusted correctly. Also, no codes are sent for Engine running test. Was told ECU may be bad. Would like to know if the ECU may be the problem and where the temp sensor is located. Thanks for any help.
  2. jozsefsz

    jozsefsz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cleveland OH Area
    Before replacing any sensors, double & triple-check that all of your grounds are in good condition. Also inspect any wiring harness connections for separation or corrosion. 9/10 times it's ground-wires or corrosion in a 19 year old car and not the computer or the sensors. Also, make sure the car is warmed up fully before running the KOEO. Otherwise the code means it was "out of test range" not that the sensor is bad.

    I'd suspect you might have a simple wiring issue with the TRS and not the ECU. Since the ECU is running a KOEO and working just fine, and also the KOER without issues, it's doubtful you have an ECU problem. You can trace the TRS wire back to the ECU and replace it if necessary.
  3. DougCS

    DougCS New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    Huachuca City Arizona
    Thanks jozsefsz... I'll check for possible wire harness problems, I did have dash out a few months ago replacing heater core and there was some corrosion due to moisture from core.

Share This Page