98 Ford F-150 4.6L Auto trans concern. Ford techs?

I know this is a mustang tech forum but I see some actual ford techs on here so thats why I am asking here.

Hey guys My chick friend has a 98 ford f150 with the 4.6L and the 4speed automatic tranny. My concern is the noticeable clunk that the truck has when the trans shifts from 3-4 gear (at normal cruising speed) or when pushing the gas down in 4th thus making it kick down to 3rd. It only does it between those two gears too. The 1-2, 2-3, shifts are great and smooth but as soon as it shifts into overdrive it clunks alittle bit and when it kicks down from overdrive to 3rd? When you sitting still and switching from P to R to D it clunks alittle. Can someone help me figure this out. I am a Chrysler tech in a training and I need all the help I can get. So if you guys could help me with where/what I should check first and the diagnostic procedures I should use to determine this problem. I will be in debt to you if anyone can help.!

• Sponsors (?)

The 4R70W and the AODE are very similar. The 98 F150 has the 4R70W, but I know there is and overdrive spring in the AODE's that went bad causing a hard shift, but only from 3rd to 4th. A friend of mine had that problem in his 95 Mustang. A trans shop replaced his broken on for under 50 dollars. They just had to drop the pan and replace it.

I'm not saying that's your problem, but it is something to look into.

I was playing around with it tonight and heres what I've come up with.