about to put my upper intake back, tips/tricks to keep gaskets/spacer in place???

staticc

Founding Member
Sep 28, 2002
Jupiter, FL
i just swapped out the stock 19lb injectors for 24lb injectors :D
and i noticed there was a spacer. and a 2nd gasket after i took my upper off. so i had to run back to my parts man and get a 2nd replacement gasket.

i cleaned the spacer and the lower intake off with acetone. but now i gotta hook up all the vacuum lines and put the intake back on.

does anybody have any tips or tricks to keep those gaskets and that spacer in place and not slide around? any info is appreciated, this is my first time taking it off/on :)

thanks
derek

• Sponsors (?)

I used gasket adhesive on the spacers gaskets to keep them from moving. Worked good, just put 3 or four little dots between each layer.

Edit- Also, if you have extra intake bolts with the same thread as the upper to lower intake bolts you can use them to hold everything in place. Chop the head of the bolt off so you can drop the upper over the top of them. Then put a couple bolts in and remove the chopped bolts you used as guides. If you know what I'm saying.

MAKE STUDS. just get a piece of threaded rod and cut it into proper lengths. Thread them down until they but and your done. Slide the gaskets and spacer onto the studs and THEY AINT MOVING. I use studs on every intake I install now. Works awsome.

My favorite trick that saves time and effort is the stay in place gasket. Be sure that you scrape (don't use a wire brush) all the old gasket material off, then clean all the surfaces with acetone or MEK.

When the surfaces are clean, use weather strip adhesive on the head to manifold surface, and on the side of the gasket that mates to the head. Follow the instructions on the tube or can and when it gets tacky, press the gasket down on the head.