Aftermarket Coil cause rough idle?

The Shape

Founding Member
Jan 11, 2002
East ARKANSAS Delta
I have been fixing up my GT for about 2 years now as most of you know from the multitude of questions I ask. Anyway it is in pretty good shape now nothing fancy just pretty much a stock daily driver. I still seem to have a rough idle though it doesn't surge just like if it idles for a long while it seems to buck and snort a bit. Most all senors are new as well as a new fuel filter and the plugs wires cap and rotor are all new. I did however buy an Accel high output coil when I first got the stang (before I came here and learned anything) Anyway question is could the coil cause the rough idle? My timing is at 12*, but I did replace the motor mounts with energy suspension so that might account for some of the roughness. Just wondering if the stock coil would make it smoother??????

• Sponsors (?)

I would imagine the coil would help transfer spark through your wires.

For a rough idle, i'd recommend cleaning your IAB valve with a can of carb cleaner. It's fast, easy to do, and you can re-use the old gasket with no problems. This solved my rough idle problem, as well as many others.

I'm gonna bump this. I have cleaned the IAC and the throttle body. The 02 sensors aren't a year old and the cap, rotor, plugs, and wires are new as well. It will idle ok in gear. In park it will idle fine a few minutes and then shake and buck a few seconds, and then smooth out then buck just not a very smooth idle. It also seems to be worse the colder it is outside. Maybe the car is just a bit cold natured and the energy suspension mounts magnify the vibrations I Feel?????? Any thoughts?