alternator whine

Discussion in 'Mustang Sound & Shine All' started by Krusher, Dec 14, 2003.


  1. Krusher

    Krusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    well... got the whole thing together... sounds nice... when the car is off. THen I hear the damn alternator whine when the car is on... any fixes?
     
    #1
  2. JokerWylde

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Check your grounds for one...do you have the signal wires running close to the power wire?
     
    #2
  3. Krusher

    Krusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    well two signal wires go across one of the amp's power wire once... no grounds. I'm running through the factory hu with speaker level inputs.
     
    #3
  4. JokerWylde

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    What do you mean, no grounds? The amp has to be grounded somewhere...
     
    #4
  5. Krusher

    Krusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    sorry... no grounds besides the big 4 guage black ground wire that I know is suppose to be there for the amps.
     
    #5
  6. JokerWylde

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    that would be the ground I'm talking about....you might check to make sure it's securely attached. You could also undo it and make sure that the grounding point is clean, bare metal.
     
    #6
  7. Krusher

    Krusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    well for everyone's information... the noise is still there!!! I sanded down even more on the ground site... re-ran every signal wire and made sure that if it HAD to cross a power wire, even the remote lead wire, they were at 90* to each other... and it still made no difference... f**k it... I'm putting in an aftermarket
     
    #7
  8. 88GTtom

    88GTtom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Woodbridge NJ
    make sure your power wire is not running on the same side of the car that your rca cables are on. if they are touching the signal can go through. keep them apart
     
    #8
  9. Krusher

    Krusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    nahhh... its just the factory hu... it sucks... I should have done what I'm doing now in the first place... using existing, proven equipment. (alpine CDA9811)
     
    #9

Share This Page