backfire through carb, ignition problem?

latamud

Founding Member
Oct 22, 2002
Tampa, FL
Alright, I've been playing with this off and on for about 4 months now. I have an 87 roller 5.0, stock cam, stock heads, stock non-adjustable rocker arms, Mallory dual point distributor. Timing is correct 13726548 for roller 302. I'm trying to start the engine and it keeps backfiring through the carb, and then I get flame on top of the carb. It seems like I'm running too far advanced but I've played with the timing so much. I even removed a valve cover to make sure my rotor was hitting the dist cap at the right spot. Or, it also is like my valves aren't closing all the way. Is that possible with the stock pedestal mounted rockers? Since, I've replaced the spark plugs, dist condensor, made sure I wasn't 180 degrees off on timing, I checked the carb, accelorator pumps are fine, squirters fine, float levels fine, power valve fine. I even swapped carbs with a car I was driving today that ran fine, same backfire through the carb and flames. So I'm sure its not a fuel issue. I am almost sure it is ignition. Any ideas?

• Sponsors (?)

Compression test will tell you if your valves aren't closing

You should also be able to hear a low cylinder, if you crank the engine over with the coil disconnected.

Good luck,

Scott

While you said you checked for 180 out.... we all make mistakes. Try and move it 180 out of where you have it now, and tell us the results. It is very possible to get confused on the stroke that the motor is on, and assume it is TDC when it is 180 out.

Aside from that, backfiring through the carb means timing. You really need to check your wires one more time, and try to flip the distributor. I've made the mistake enough times to know it's easy to make.

351carlo said: