Best motor options?

Aw4g63

Sep 1, 2004
Well, I'm rather new to the 302 motors. I was a chevy guy and I also was a boosted 4cyl guy aswell.

But now I'm a Ford guy :flag:

I have a 302 in my 69 Stang. The heads have a code on them that read 289. I'm guessing these are the heads they put on early 302s.

The motor has no problems, just been sitting for years. About 5 to be exact.
I have around $1500 to spend on everything for the motor. What would you reccomend?

Also what kind of HP would the set up you suggest pull out?
I would like to go naturally aspirated with a power adder like N02 down the road. So thats not included in the cost.

It was a 2 barrel motor so take a carb and intake into the cost if it helps.

Just looking for some suggestions.

• Sponsors (?)

Aw4g63 said:
Well, I'm rather new to the 302 motors. I was a chevy guy and I also was a boosted 4cyl guy aswell.

I have a 302 in my 69 Stang. The heads have a code on them that read 289. I'm guessing these are the heads they put on early 302s.

I have around $1500 to spend on everything for the motor. What would you reccomend?

I would like to go naturally aspirated with a power adder like N02 down the road. So thats not included in the cost.

Sounds like you have 289 heads on there, not 302. Thats not teh code # just the size engine they were on. Thats ok though the 289 heads have a little more compression so they will help you out. I would start with cam, intake, carb, exhaust and gears. What do you have in it for a tranny.

for a carb i would go no higher than a 650 cfm. i have a 250 dollar 600 cfm carb but most people opt for holleys. if you want power down low, then the weiend stealth intake is the one for you. call comp or crane cams for a reccomended cam that will match your driving style,gears,tranny and weight of vehicle. be sure to get some new bearings all around. long tube headers and 3.55-4:11 gears are always a plus