brakes spongy after brake pad replacement (didn't open bleeders though)?

jmanng

Dec 23, 2004
I'm fairly new to mustangs and I had to do my first front pad replacement on my 2000 v6 yesterday night.. and now the brakes feel a bit spongy. It feels like air had gotten into the system but I did not open up the bleeder screws - I just used a C clamp to slowly push the pistons back into their bores. I've done this for eons with other vehicles and never run into this issue. I've searched other posts and I see others are using the same method and didn't find anyone running into the similar problems (on pad replacement without opening the bleeders). Has anyone else experienced this closed system syndrome???

I'm wondering if I've damaged the MC pushing the pistons back in, although it doesn't seem to drop the pedal (it feels more like air). I guess I'll start with front bleeding to see if it resolves the problem, and then have to look at the MC.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Jaime
2000 v6

• Sponsors (?)

I changed my pads and rotors all around and didn't have the same problem. You did right but just c-clamping the pistons back in.....however I think either the front or rears (don't remember which) need a special tool to twist while pressing in.

hopefully you didn't damage the cylinder

I bleed all the calipers on the weekend starting from the farthest from the MC (but not the MC itself). Well the fluid was pretty dirty and seemed to have a few minute bubbles... so a fluid change was a good thing but the brakes are still spongy for my liking. I'm fairly convinced now that the pedal has always been this way since I got the car at the beginning of the year, but it wasn't until I did the pad replacement and testing the system out that I looked at it with a critical eye (the PO had a certified mechanic doing all of his maintenance)