Build opinions

88stang88

5 Year Member
Apr 28, 2005
St. Louis,MO
I am getting ready to pick up a set of Trick flow TW heads and Trick flow intake. Need some opinions on a Correct way to set up the car so I don't have have any mismatched items. I have a stock AODE and a stock rear end. I want to rebuild the rear-end and put some gears in it however remain very streetable. I would say 90/10 street/strip.

Need opinions on converters,gears,upgrades to transmission.

Please feel free to list what you would do,this is opinion based and I will pick and choose what I like most.

• Sponsors (?)

yup 4:10 or 3:90, I had 3:55 and didn't like it. i have no experience on AODE and torque converters so i have no idea,

as far as rear end, I use auburn diff and i like it. get some better axles if yours are worn and change the bearings while you at it. I have 4:10 as well. It's better to do the whole thing at once as far as rear end. saves you $.

Chris I completely forgot you run a AOD on your car...you should have all types of answer's for what works.

Yes, you should ask someone who has AOD like chris and see what he has done to his.

But just like mystery said there are bunch of people running 4:10 on AOD and are happy with it. It also depends on how much power you are making :)

well, i don't know that much, but here is what my own experiences have taught me ... :shrug:

i'm much more about drivability than all out performance. i don't go to the track and want to be able to just hop in it anytime and go anywhere.

i currently have an AOD with standard gearing (2.40/1.47/1.00/.667) and 3.27 rear end gears. 70 mph on the highway is 2000 rpm in 4th. while that is good for cruising, here is the problem: 2250 rpm is 80, and 2500 rpm is 90. and the motor is powerful enough that it wants to (and will!) go from 2000 to 2250 very easily, so i have to be very careful with the throttle or i will see red and blue lights behind me.