Buying New Car: 2017 Mustang Or Camaro

1966StangGT

Jan 4, 2017
Good God - I know this might start a :poo:estorm. I hope it doesn't though.

Full disclosure - I've been a GM driver for my past 4 cars (Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, G8GT). But, my first car was a 66 Mustang GT. I am now needing a new car.

I was originally drawn to the 2016 Camaro. But, to give it a fair shot, during a recent business trip, I drove a 2016 Mustang GT for 8 days. And, I really liked the Mustang! So, now I'm torn.

I've driven both cars. I like both, and would be happy spending my money on either one. Therefore, I'm reaching out to both communities (I'm on Camaro6.com, asking similar questions) to see what their thoughts are.

No, in answer to your question - I'm not "basing" my opinion on what other people think. But, you guys know your cars the best. I'm asking for the things you like and dislike about Mustangs. And, also about the Camaro. Again, I'm doing the same over there. Then, in the end, I'll be weighing everyone's comments in my own decision.

Here's what I'm looking for (been to dealerships and obtained the following pricing):

2017 Mustang GT Premium - $43,575
6-spd
GT Performance Pkg (6-piston Brembos, larger tires, 3.73 axle, heavy-duty springs, etc.)
401A Equipment Group (premium radio, memory seats, etc.)
Reverse system
Premier Trim (red leather)

2017 Camaro 2SS - $47,598
6-spd
Black wheels
Red leather
Magnetic shocks
6-piston Brembo brakes
Dual-mode exhaust

Essentially, the same performance options on both (3.73 axle, upgraded suspension, upgraded brakes, etc.)

The Camaro is almost exactly $4,000 more. But, is it worth it?

Thanks for all your help!

• Sponsors (?)

Good God - I know this might start a ****estorm. I hope it doesn't though.

Full disclosure - I've been a GM driver for my past 4 cars (Camaro, Firebird, Trans Am, G8GT). But, my first car was a 66 Mustang GT. I am now needing a new car.