c4/auto trans question???

90FoxBdy

Founding Member
Jun 17, 2000
Linthicum, MD
I recently rebuilt a c4 and am getting ready to drop it in with my new motor. I have bolted everything together, but when I went to spin the crank by hand i cant find neutral while clicking through the gears. My question is should I be able to find neutal or does the motor have to be running and pumping fluid. I am new to autos please ignore my ignorance. Thxs

• Sponsors (?)

if you didnt here is what you need to do. pull the engine or trans (your choice) place the convertor on the input shaft and while pressing in with your hands turn it clockwise until you feel it click 3 times. thats how you set it to the pump. you will hear it and see it go in. if you do not do this and just bolt the engine and trans together you cause the input on the convertor to smash the drive ring for the pump and it will not function and good by trans.

Ok it definetly was not seated all the way now it is, however still dont feel neutral. The engine and converter will spin when the bellhousing is a little loose. Once you snug it up you cant spin the engine at all. Everything locks up. Is that how its suppossed to work? Am i missing something obvious.

c4 trans

Ok it definetly was not seated all the way now it is, however still dont feel neutral. The engine and converter will spin when the bellhousing is a little loose. Once you snug it up you cant spin the engine at all. Everything locks up. Is that how its suppossed to work? Am i missing something obvious.