camshaft help

Last week my stock bottom end split in two. Sucks but i am going to put a 331 dart shp in it now. It has a 76mm turbo and im not sure what would be a good cam for this. it had a ford racing B303 should i stick with this? I will drive the car on the street mostly but will race it some also.

• Sponsors (?)

If you're looking for an OTS cam, you can't go wrong with the F303 in a boosted application.

In any case, without more info about the combination (heads, intake, etc...) I don't think anyone can give you a good answer.

I'm no cam pro. I always go custom. I have a 331 with AFR205s, and a TFS-R with box upper. My cam is a 600 lift cam with 228/224 duration at .050" lift. It runs great, has good manners on the street, and peaks at around 6300 rpm. I'm actually wondering if I'm getting valve float somewhere because it drops off pretty quickly after 6300. Anyway, the F303 is probably a better choice for a boosted application than the B. Still, you'll be leaving power on the table. Investing in a dart block is not a budget decision so do it right and get in touch with someone who does this for a living. just my $.02

When comparing cams for a turbo motor, take into account that turbo motors prefer minimal overlap. You'll also note looking at the latest turbo custom cams, that the grinds typically have a duration bias in favor of the intake - something you don't see in nitrous, blower, or na cams.

Chris

i just bought the car in january spent an s load of money on it so i wouldnt have to work on it. it was shiny fast and i had to have it. i didnt really get much info on it no recepits etc. it does have a laptop fuel management not sure what brand ported cobra intake msd 7al-2 box. i did get a dyno sheet with it was 410 hp 485 torque at 9psi. heads are aluminum no name on them just a serial number 3686-3. so far im quoted about 4000 for a dart shp 331 with forged internals.