Can the TPMS be disabled?

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by RwltCowboy, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. RwltCowboy

    RwltCowboy
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Hello! I'm about to purchase a new set of wheels & tires for my 07 Mustang and plan on stashing the originals away. I'm not really thrilled about every place I see wanting to charge an extra $200.00 (or more) to my upcoming purchase just for the new TPMS sensors and scan tool. I personally think this is an annoying feature and don't want to have it active if I can somehow turn it off. Besides, I've got enough sense to make sure my tires are properly inflated. I've got along fine for many years without having a TPMS system on other cars. It seems that every time the outside temperature takes a dip, my TPMS warning system comes on. I'll stop and check my tire pressure, and at the most, there might be 1 tire with maybe a 1 or 2 psi. variance. In my opinion, it shouldn't be THAT sensitive.
     
  2. SpartaPerformance

    SpartaPerformance
    Expand Collapse
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    No it can not
     
  3. RwltCowboy

    RwltCowboy
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Thanks!
     
  4. Steve491

    Steve491
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    "Hello! I'm about to purchase a new set of wheels & tires for my 07 Mustang"

    You have enough money to replace the original wheels and tires with aftermarket wheels and tires yet you complain about Ford's sensors....?

    Deal with it..
     
  5. RwltCowboy

    RwltCowboy
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Well Steve, I was asking a legitimate question and was wanting a direct answer to it. Not really impressed by your smart-a$$ remark. Was expecting better from these forums.
     
  6. gearheadboy

    gearheadboy
    Expand Collapse
    Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Greencastle Pa
    Please don't think that everyone shares the same opinion. I can understand the idea that if you could just simply turn off the feature and save $200 from the cost of new wheels it would be worth the asking. I've not heard of any way to simply disable the system but hopefully someone chimes in.
     
  7. RwltCowboy

    RwltCowboy
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Thanks GearHeadBoy for the response, and understanding that I was only trying to save myself a little money on my upcoming purchase. If I don't purchase the new TPMS sensors, the TPMS system will constantly show that there is a problem. I have spoken with the gentleman who writes my tune files, and he says that he CAN turn the feature off, but will NOT do it from a liability standpoint. Several months ago, I also wanted my Traction Control disabled. He wouldn't do that either for the same reason. Oh well. Looks like I'll be purchasing the new TPMS sensors.
     
  8. gearheadboy

    gearheadboy
    Expand Collapse
    Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Greencastle Pa
    Very good. It's not a ton of money I suppose. Or maybe visit another tuner?
     
  9. Nunja Business

    Nunja Business
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    LA (Lower Alabama)
    200 bucks is 200 bucks. Since the TPMS is literally an unnecessary feature for most of us with sense, that is money that could otherwise be spent on OTHER mods (or fuel).
    I am also very interested in this. If a tuner said he could do it but won't, does that mean if you have an SCT tuner you can disable it?

    Interested if anyone has a direct answer and can share.
     
  10. Noobz347

    Noobz347
    Expand Collapse
    Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 1985
    Messages:
    15,973
    Likes Received:
    1,829
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    That whole TPMS thing is feature that belongs on a Taurus, driven by a soccer mom, who turns to her husband at the dinner table and says something like, "Honey, the flashy light thingy on the dash is blinking again". It's designed for people who go to jiffy lube once a year and otherwise put gas in the car to make it go. Should never have been put on a Mustang without an O-F-F mode.
     
    Nunja Business and RwltCowboy like this.
  11. jpplaw

    jpplaw
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank the Govt. All car's 2007 & up must have a TPMS system.

    As far as I know, the TPMS software is NOT a part of the tune, it resides in the SJB and cannot be changed.
     
  12. lsmit541

    lsmit541
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    Michigan
    Too bad we do not have an amendment that gives us rights against forced TPMS, but in time the govt would strike that one down along with the others.
     
  13. rd

    rd
    Expand Collapse
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Ocean Springs MS
    In owning Bullitt since 08, I have not found a diy way to turn off the *&^M tpms.

    However, all that said, it is one heck of a nail finder! If you leave home and its off, but comes on 20 miles down the interstate, it's become a reliable warning of a pending flat tire. I have experience in this.

    Pita, but I guess its here to stay. Now, if someone knows how to turn it off, I'm listening.
     
  14. tr7driver

    tr7driver
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Illinois
    I recall seeing an article where the 4 TPMS sensors were removed from the stock wheels and put in a small pressurized tube and stored in the trunk of a car. As long as the tube held air, the warning lamp stays off. Maybe this is urban myth, but it seems logical and easy enought.... My 05 isn't equiped with TPMS
     
  15. Vegas

    Vegas
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Reuse old sensors, just get new straps... they are cheap enough and should be replaced ever 5 to 7 years as the battery does die..
    I know it was mentioned that TPMS was law 07 and up, but my 2 07 Focus vehicles do not have it.
    and no, that is not a Myth, I have a Buddy who took all 4 sensors and stick them in a small metal tube he made welded a metal valve on it from Harbor freight and Pumped it to 40 psi and Forgot about it..
    so it cam be done, However this will depend on where you put them, truck is not as good as tucked in dash so when the batteries get weak they will work as long as possible,
    BUT as cheap as they art just add them..
     
  16. TheShabz

    TheShabz
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Well, if the only alternative is rolling around town with a pipe bomb in your car, I'll go ahead and shell out the extra $150 for the sensors.
     
  17. Bullitt347

    Bullitt347
    Expand Collapse
    man bewbs please...

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    375
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Easy fix.....................remove instrument cluster.........remove tpms light bulb. Fixed!
     
  18. RwltCowboy

    RwltCowboy
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    14
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Wrong, Bullitt347. I wish it was that simple. My 2007 GT has the Info display and it spells out that there is a low tire, along with an annoying chime. As it turns out, I got my new wheels & tires today and my tire dealer threw in the new TPMS sensors and programmed everything and didn't charge me a dime for it.
     
    tr7driver likes this.