Carb coverters PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by moonenn3186, Dec 14, 2003.


  1. moonenn3186

    moonenn3186 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubuque, Iowa
    I am having a hell of a time wiring my EFI pump to work w/o the EEC IV.

    I am trying to tap into the fuel pump relay under the drivers seat.

    Its an 86 and I need to know exactly what to do with what wires.
  2. FoxBodyGT

    FoxBodyGT New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austintown, Ohio 44515


    Sponsored Ad

  3. Bill88Stang

    Bill88Stang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Palm Coast FL
    i converted my 88 to carb and i just ran a seperate pump. i ran a holely blue pump wiht braided line although u can go cheaper and use aluminum then you just have to bend it your self. i duno how well your efi pump would work on a carb setup i hope your planning to you a regulator and tunr the pressure way down but that might affect flow. efi pump run high pressure low volume and carb pump run low pressure high volume.i had a hell of a time as well trying to reuse the stock fuelp pump relay to get power to the holley pump and i could not get it to work. im guessing the computer switches on side of that relay from pwoer to ground becasue i coudl not get it to work right so i bought a relay and wired it in myself and just ran the pump to a switch to turn it on or off. carbdford.com has a great write up on converting over to carb and all the wiring thats where i got my info from i hope i could be some help to you.
  4. charlesw6954

    charlesw6954 Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mo
    with my old 84 i was told to wire my electronic fuel pump to something that turns on when the key turns to the on position.
  5. moonenn3186

    moonenn3186 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubuque, Iowa
    I have a Holley red I plan on using when I get a sumped tank - however for Temp use i would like to use the eFI PUMP with a return style regulator. I can be done I have seen it used.

    I located the green relay under the seat - I tried using the Carb convert writeup but that did not work at all - he was talking about wires in the engine compartment for the fuel pump relay, which I do not have.

    I grounded the tan/green stripe wire and ran power to the red/blue stripe wire and got nothing.

    Give me some more iedes. I will be using this wiring for the Holley pump as well.
  6. gearheadboy

    gearheadboy Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Greencastle Pa
    NEVER EVER WIRE YOUR PUMP HOT WITH THE KEY ON!!!!!
    If ya roll or crash and the fuel line breaks, your pump just keeps on fuelin the fire.
  7. gearheadboy

    gearheadboy Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Greencastle Pa
    Food for thought: use an oil sending unit to ground the fuel pump relay. Thus no oil pressure, no pump.
  8. moonenn3186

    moonenn3186 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubuque, Iowa
    For clarification:

    I do not plan on wiring it hot, that is why I want to use the stock wiring and the key switch.

    f My I - how do I ground it to oil pump sending unit?
  9. PURESTREET5006

    PURESTREET5006 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the tech line for tear down"AGAIN"
    Just get a separate fuel pump be it mech or elec. and run new lines from the tank up,but if you go electric that pump has to push not pull.
  10. moonenn3186

    moonenn3186 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubuque, Iowa
    I can not, nor do I want to, use a mechanical pump.

    I have a Holley Red pump and am abreast on how to use it.

    I still need to figure out how to get power to the elec pump in order to hook it up. I would also prefer to use the stock wiring for obvious reasons.

    So please help if you have done this before. . .

Share This Page