China Cobra Intake Woes!

Igofaster13

Mar 9, 2006
San Diego
Well, I have had the bad luck with the china cobra intake.... Ordered a brand new one from "yates Performance" early January. Got the intake and started getting everything ready... Removed stocker.. cleaned all parts that go back on, and started installing the small things. First thing, the air charge sensor will not thread correctly/clean.. ends up binding/stripping half the threads and I stop in disgust. I try to send back for an exchange or refund, and its been 10 days since, no delivery yet! Its insured, and has delivery confirmation! I'm a ASE certified tech so yea... know whats up with proper install & what not. About to just purchase a used real (non china) cobra or an edelbrock. I see a few differences in the real and china intakes, one the ford racing symbol on the upper near the throttle body on the china, and a few small things here and there... DUDE.. this is turning out into an ordeal :notnice:

• Sponsors (?)

The China intake won't work with a Kenne Bell intake either.
The top sits back about 1/4 further than a real cobra intake. Just enough to keep the belt from lining up. Just think how many people have pulled there hair and lost money trying to use these intakes. That's a shame

Unless you're getting a SMOKING deal on a GT40-style intake or you're just hung up on the looks/tradition of one, there are much better performing intakes out there for the money, never mind the super cheap quality of the Chinese Cobras.

I bought a "Cobra" intake from FORD and it was stamped "China" on it... I was so pissed... But it worked for me :shrug: