Clutch install, how long should it take?

Dr Jay

Jan 1, 2004
Canada
My car is at the dealer for a clutch change. How long should it take? My girlfriend noticed it went in the shop today around noon and I called before they closed today at 5 and they said it should be ready around noon tomorrow. I'm getting new tires and a safety inspection too so is this a reasonable time frame? I've heard guys say they can change a clutch in less than 3 hours at the track:shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

it all depends on the tech who does the work. some like to bust @$$, some couldnt care less. if it were me, i would've had it done by closing time that day. that just means i can make the money on that car and start working on something else the next day. generally, 4 tires take ~45 min, inspections take 10 min, and i could probably do that clutch in ~4-5 hours. but i've never done a clutch on a RWD before, only FWD, so thats a generous estimate. im sure some good ford techs can knock one out in ~2.5 hours.

When I did mine (my first clutch, mind you), by myself including replacing the pilot bearing (and figuring out how to get that thing out), took me 4 1/2hrs...with lift and air tools. If I put a clutch in my car this weekend provided I needed it, I could probably do it in 2 1/2 to 3hrs, probably less.

I've changed alot of tires since I started working on cars a couple years ago, but when I put my BFG's on my stock 17x8 wheels, that was worse than doing the clutch. Getting the bead to seat was like pulling teeth. Total it took me about 2hrs to put 4 new tires on, but I'd imagine alot of it had to do with the insanely stiff sidewall.