Engine Coil Pack Question?

Beau Granbois

Oct 9, 2012
NE Montana
Hey everyone! I am a newb and this is my first post, so please bare with me if I start babbling.

Last spring I picked up a 2001 Crown Vic from a local police auction for $900 w only 45k on it. Now I was going to fix up the Vic so it could run w the ponies, but after thinking about it. Why should i put all this money into it just to run w em when I could build my own Mustang n lead the herd.

After a few months of looking around for a mustang, found a guy that was selling a '96 GT that he blew the head gasket in. Now I already had a low mile 4.6 sitting in the yard and now I found a straight 5 spd GT that needed a new heart. And for $500 I couldn't loss.

So the previous owner is dropping it off tomorrow and I'm anxious to start pulling the Mustang apart and getting it ready for the Crown Vic engine. I know about most of the stuff that goes into the swap, intake plenium, valve covers, accessory drive, among other things, I've been resourcing it for awhile.

Now here's my question?
The Crown Vic 4.6 has the PI package on it with the individual coils on it and the GT 4.6 is a NPI with the two coil packs. What, if anything, do I need to have this swap go as easy as possible? Is this just a simple plug-n-play or am I going to need to come the two coil packs and swap everything over to the PI engine? Any help on this would help out alot. I'm in NE Montana and its starting to get cold so I'd like to get this swap done ASAP. Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

The key to the swap is to retain the electronics of the 96. When I did my Crown Vic to Mustang swap, I had both motors on engine stands as the CV motor was undressed and then the Mustang specific "stuff" was transferred.

Take TONS of pictures.

Swap the electronics (wiring harness and ignition). Swap the fuel injectors and induction. Swap the oil pan. Swap the oil dip stick. Swap the exhaust manifolds. Swap the EGR system.

Keep the CV PI intake.