college.....help me

ok i have quite a situation here.

For a long time, i have wanted to go to school in florida(i live in new york). Recently, i realized that being an out of state resident, cost would not permit me to go. I then applied and got into several state schools up here for automotive engineering, which is what i want to do. I'm about to seal my entrance into the State university of NY at Farmingdale on long island. However, lately i have lost all interest in school. I'm still an a/b student but i dont have the desire to continue onto college right away. I think my real passion is doing wht i have wanted to do all along.

I have a freind who is moving to florida in july and will be working for chassis engineering. He has a place and wants me to move with him. I may move down with him, gain residency, work for a year, then apply to some state schools there(being a resident gives me the cheaper tution). I just have no interest in school anymore and think a year off to do what i really want may be my best choice instead of just settling for college up here. I dont want it to be a waste for me and my parents.

So, here i am, about to graduate in a month from high school, and i dont know what i am doing.

• Sponsors (?)

Taking a year off, or at least until the spring semester may not be a bad idea. My HS class graduated in '98, and I started college in the fall of '99. Granted I've had issues come up that have prevented me from finishing, it did give me time to work, and clear my head of school for a bit. Going back then seemed exciting. I'm 25 now, and regret not sticking with school anyway, but luckily I'm still young enough that I'm not able to look back with too much regret, just a little setback. If ya need to take some time off, I say go for it, but keep the future in mind, too!

if you do take a year off, don't get too attatched to the money that you wont want to go back... that happens a lot and did with 3 of my cousins