competing with an LS1

Snowman76

Sep 25, 2006
I am new to the realm of mustangs, quite honestly I was always a GM fan and still am, but something about the mustang calls to me. I have this problem, me and all of my old high school friends have always had semi comparable cars and then it is a never ending competion to have the best and more importantly the fastest car(1/4 mile). Well it finally happened that one of us took the leap to a far supirior car, a 99 LS1 Trans Am, gourgous car with very low miles. Thinking conservativly I have at least 8K to drop and need to find a car that will at least be close to competing with his. I am just curious how far behind I would be starting if I got a 99+ GT mustang 5 speed. Will i be spending a fortune to match his stock? Cause he is already ordering parts, he is fresh back from iraq and full of combat pay. Oh yeah, and i have to be able to blow away an LT1 Camaro, I won't loose to daddys car.

• Sponsors (?)

I also have GM roots. I've owned 3 F-bodies in the past, and was looking for an LS1 when I found my Mustang. I have an automatic and ran consistent 14.4s stock. The LS1 is rated at 13.3 stock...and I believe the New Edge (99-04) Mustangs are rated at 14.2 with a manual.

One of my best friends has a 2000 Camaro SS (no real performance upgrades over the Z/28). Supposedly these cars are way underrated in HP, as they frequently put 310 to the wheels on dynos. The New Edge stang is also underrated as they put 245 to the wheels...but that's still a big advantage. The stang is a few hundred pounds lighter I think, but the LS1 is formidable.

Power-wise, I only have my CAI and catback installed (the rest of the non-suspension mods get installed in a week), and I lose to LS1s. However, racing LT1s is a dead heat. I mean, way even. They are rated at 13.8, but I've never seen it happen. Every race has come down to driver, and I've raced at least half a dozen. I actually only lost to one, and by maybe six inches.