Desperatly Need Help Please ! 347 Stroker Fuel Problem

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by joedirt76, Feb 11, 2014.


  1. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    new to this whole thing so go easy on my please, ive tried everything I know to do , I have 89 notchback with a 347 stroker ,afr heads,victor intake , big ass cam, 36lb injectors ,255lph in tank fuel pump ,75mm throttle body ,76 mm between tb and maf , and believe my maf is 80 mm and ,all I know is the maf supposed to be the correct one for 36lb injectors. there is nothing stock on this motor I have the fuel pressure regulator sitting at about 40 psi ...PROBLEM---- I am running too rich the fumes are unbearable even at idle not really a lot of smoke alittle when I punch it , I have a Anderson for motorsport pms tuner , I have the fuel cut back 14% across the board and still running rich and if I go more than that its too lean , -14 will run and drive but still not running like it should and too rich ,my last thought was smaller injector and/or pump but everything im reading is similar setups to mine with no Anderson tuner and theres are running fine, please help before I go insane this car is broke me on expenses cant afford dyno right now and it kills me to just watch it sit .
     
    #1
  2. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Thread moved to fox tech. Has it ran properly? What has changed? Run codes??
     
    #2
  3. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    well its never been tuned since the build except by me and the interstate and my ears, I originally got the pms tuner thinking I went to big on injectors ,not really most the codes are from stuff bypassed the typical throw away stuff , but recently I did pull and o2 code outta of it but not everytime neither
     
    #3
  4. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Sounds like you need some help from a PMS guru, someone will chime in
     
    #4
    joedirt76 likes this.
  5. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Are you able to datalog? Whats your afr's?
     
    #5
  6. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    have snapon solus scanner it will graph alitttle but ill be honest I don't know how to do everything it can,185's I believe ,been awhile !
     
    #6
  7. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Still have stock ecm? Can you bypass the PMS? If you have a maf matched to your injectors it should be close enough of a base tune on the factory ecm to get you running, then can tweak from there. Sounds like your tune is just fubarred
     
    #7
  8. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    yes, there is a stand alone option which will bypass stock ecm but I never had any luck with it ,that tuner is VERY thorough and tricky u make one change and your almost forced to make 20 more elsewhere , maybe I need try stand alone again ,yea its fubarred right now been sitting on the lift for a month figured I try and reach out to others tired of scratching my head
     
    #8
  9. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    read ur post wrong ,only way to bypass pms is unplug it like it was never installed
     
    #9
  10. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    You can actually call in to Anderson Ford and talk to Rick or one of their techs for some assistance
     
    #10
    joedirt76 likes this.
  11. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    O2's will make it run rich so if that code did come up I would start there.
     
    #11
  12. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    I would unplug it and use stock tune, clear all codes, and run it and see whats going on. Do you have an afr gauge?
     
    #12
  13. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    is there any special one I should be using ? I know there something called wideband ,or is a stock bosch form local part store good enough?
     
    #13
  14. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
     
    #14
  15. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river

    True, but he knows its way rich. I would start from scratch if it were me. With those mods, the stock ecm should be close enough to being good with a maf calibrated for the injectors. The PMS will then allow you to tune from there.
     
    #15
  16. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    no gauge
     
    #16
  17. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Definitely need a wideband sensor as well as a gauge designed for the wideband. Sounds like youre in a bit over your head and should have someone with experience tuning to get you fixed up
     
    #17
  18. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    any way to bench check so to speak a o2 sensor ?
     
    #18
  19. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,604
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    You have fuel pressure set at 40 psi with vacuum disconnected?
     
    #19
  20. joedirt76

    joedirt76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    rocky point nc
    maybe alittle but no turning back now I knew it was gonna be something just didn't see the complications coming with with it
     
    #20

Share This Page