35th Anniv DMV?

Discussion in 'Special Production' started by jtm604, Feb 22, 2010.


  1. jtm604

    jtm604 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Showcase:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone have their 35th with a "classic style" registration? I've talked to a couple of people and they said since my car is a limited production vehicle, I can register it as a classic and be limited to mileage. Which doesn't bother me but I would be exempt from inspection either. I'm going to the DMV tomorrow anyways but I figured I'd ask fellow 35th owners first before my local DMV lady. Any answers to this question would be awesome!:nice:
    #1
  2. VOORHEES

    VOORHEES Stangnet's "35th Limited Edition" VIN Guy Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Not sure, I alsways thought the car had to be a certain amount of years old before you could get the "classic" registration.

    Keep us informed.

    :nice:
    #2
  3. dfesta

    dfesta New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know for a fact in Ohio you can. You can qualify either with the age of your vehicle (I believe it's 20 or 25 years+) or with the type of vehicle (limited production, etc.). Being that the 35th LE's were limited to less than 5,000 vehicles qualifies them in Ohio. I don't know about the laws of other states.
    #3
  4. Crzyhrse

    Crzyhrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In Washington state your vehicle has to be over 25 years old to skip emissions testing. Limited production means nothing here.
    #4
  5. jtm604

    jtm604 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Showcase:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, of course I got to the DMV in time today, but I have to call Trenton and they were closed by the time to the women told me. Hopefully tomorrow I will have an answer for myself and everyone else.
    #5
  6. jtm604

    jtm604 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Showcase:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the answer! I can register the car as a "collector vehicle" in the state of New Jersey. Basically the paper work says that the car can be driven no more than 3,000 miles a year or 6,000 miles bi annually. Also that the car has to be insured as a collector vehicle as well. The NJMVC says some vehicles may be required to have a odometer lock (which I assume is for non-digital odometers). Then a special decal will be issued and indicates that the car is exempt from safety and emissions. Last thing is that the "collector vehicle" must be taken to a state inspection for a odometer and insurance verification.
    There's more obviously but that is it in a nutshell. My only thing is I hate being restricted all though I'm well aware of it.
    #6
  7. VOORHEES

    VOORHEES Stangnet's "35th Limited Edition" VIN Guy Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    69
    seems its much like collectors insurance, they only allow certain mileage per year and it has to be locked up in a garage/etc.
    #7
  8. jtm604

    jtm604 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Showcase:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, of course that's up to insurance only but still. I wonder if it's really worth it...
    Also right now were getting blasted with snow and it's up to the bottom of the windows on the poor girl!
    #8

Share This Page