Does this actually work?

Legendary

Founding Member
Oct 10, 2002
City of Angels
Any ill affects from doing it? Have any of you guys did this on a street driven car?

582401_67_full.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

20 hp??????? WTF. I seroiusly dout that it is credible. By cutting the electrode would require a much higher voltage to jump the air gap. More than likely exceding the capability of the stock coil. The gains he may have seen might have been because the dynos aren't standardized to compensate for atmospheric conditions. Also if you are a CNT hair off on the dyno it can tweak your #s.

I'm quite pesimistic.

I've been doing it for year's on both full out race engine's and street engine's including my current street driven 408 without any problem's.... it's an old trick that hot rodder's use to do all the time back in the day and I've kind of gotten into the habit of doing it to all my plug's (Run Autolite Only).. I've never tried a "before & after" run on the dyno to see how much actual gain there is if any but there is no doubt in my mind that the simple mod is worth a bit of power & throttle response just as indexing the plug's is. Simple Mod's like these may be a bit time consuming but there more then worth it in the long run. Every little bit of horsepower you can get all add's up.

Shon

408stroker5.0 said: