Digital Tuning Don't Be So Quick To Update Your Sct Device!

Discussion in '2010 - 2014 Specific Tech' started by beviking, Jul 31, 2012.


  1. Bojingles

    Bojingles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Barksdale AFB, LA
    So what's the draw back if I don't do this update and reload the tune? I'm not understanding why this is a critical update.
    #21
  2. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,117
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    Nobody?
    #22
  3. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,117
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart

    Updates?
    #23
  4. Bojingles

    Bojingles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Barksdale AFB, LA
    Guess I'll email SCT and find out why because I'm curious what the implications would be if one does not do the update.
    #24
  5. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,117
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    Here's my guess... You'll have a functional unit that provides MANY years of reliable service.

    This post along with your tuner, will self-detruct in 30 seconds. :ninja:




    .
    #25
  6. beviking

    beviking Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Syracuse,NY
    That is a great question! They just say it's a critical update. Maybe to avoid any potential warranty claim?

    Update...Steeda is awesome, not that that is any new news, but they did get me the tunes the next day! Loaded the tune and all seems well. One difference I noticed was that when loading the custom tune now, you get the option to change other params which it didn't do before the update. I was hesitant to write back right away due to the feel that the car wasn't running as strong as it had been. You know, downshifting at 65 into 3rd, bustin the tires loose, then again hittin 4th gear! Need a longer track to see if she'll bust 'em loose in 5th :) Went to Ford to make sure there wasn't any problem and after a week the computer was still in the learning stage/mode? They also said they couldn't run a full diagnostic without returning the car to stock so I decided to give it to the end of the week. All seems well and I don't feel I need to go back to Ford. :banana:
    #26
  7. Bojingles

    Bojingles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Barksdale AFB, LA
    That's a pretty cool option to have. I might do the update just to use that. I did email SCT Friday and asked them about it. Hopefully I get response here in the next day or two. I know they're swamped.
    #27
  8. Bojingles

    Bojingles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Barksdale AFB, LA
    Yeah, never heard anything from SCT.... Either they deleted my email or they just forgot about me.
    #28
  9. Aussie_Adam

    Aussie_Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys I stumbled across this thread while searching for answers as to why the firmware update on my sct flash tuner failed. My situation was similar what has been described earlier in this thread. Essentially I had the device plugged in to laptop via USB and was updating firmware using the SCT Device Updater version 2.9.8.39 I did the update firmware option and browsed to the file. The update appeared to be working as the progress bar loaded up. I then got a message pop up saying 'Programming Complete! Unplug/Plug Device" so I did. After this the flash tuner would not boot just a blank blue lit up screen.... Someone earlier on mentioned that the tech staff were able to fix this problem. Can you please advise how??? Luckily I backed up my tunes before doing the update but the device is bricked at the moment unless I can somehow get the firmware loaded back on it... Cheers Adam
    #29
  10. beviking

    beviking Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Syracuse,NY
    Hey Adam, you need to contact SCT. Go to their website and follow the links for tech help. Once you get ahold of them, they're very helpful!!! Good luck!
    #30
  11. miner999r

    miner999r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    14
    In the tech race the winner is not always first over the line - perhaps a race to be 2nd, 3rd, 4th!!!
    The back up your files advice is a good one.
    #31

Share This Page