Electrical Easiest Way To Monitor Sensors In 1989 5.0?

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by JohnnyK81, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. JohnnyK81

    JohnnyK81 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    I have a 1988 5.0 with EFI installed in my 1967 (I converted to MAF, so let's call it a 1989).

    I'd like to see what the sensors are doing, if the ecu coolant sensor is picking up the correct sensor, and if the VSS Is reading anything at all, etc, etc.

    What is the best way to do this? Is my only option a Tweecer or something comparable?

    Thanks!
     
    #1
  2. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,742
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    binary editor and a custom chip or a Moates quarterhorse will do it
     
    #2
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  3. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,784
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    If all you want to do is data-log, there are a few options. Here's one of them:

    http://www.racesystems.com/sneeciv/sneec.htm

    It appears that these guys are having supply problems at the moment. If I recall, their systems went for about $400.
     
    #3
  4. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,742
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    thats a pretty nice setup, but it only datalogs. Why not have the ability to change your tune as well all for less money? Quarterhorse new is $249 blank, no tune, Binary Editor/EEC Anaylyzer is $115. You can upload your tune your running now, load it onto the Quartherhorse and send it back to your ECU. Then make some datalogs and make any changes anytime necesary. You'll be able to have any competent tuner help you out with any tuning changes as well
     
    #4
  5. JohnnyK81

    JohnnyK81 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Thanks guys! So, moral of the story is, DEFINITELY need some sort of piggyback chip then? that's a bummer, was hoping for something cheap and easy just to check out those 2 sensors (primarily).

    On a related note.. The snap on scan tools.. IF i recall, I thought those had the ability to monitor what the sensors were doing? Haven't used one since high school, but I seem to recall they had different cartridges depending on which OBD (make/model) you had?
     
    #5
  6. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,784
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart

    Yeah... You're pretty much out of luck. On OBDII vehicles it would be cheap --and-- easy! On Ford OBDI vehicles you have to go through the J-3 port on the EEC and that by inheritance, is a lot more expensive.

    OBDI delivery is nothing more than Morse code for cars to give fault codes. You can't actually log sensor data through them.
     
    #6
  7. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,742
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    OBD2 is nice, I monitor my Volvo via bluetooth on my Nexus
     
    #7
  8. JohnnyK81

    JohnnyK81 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    The only reason I ask about the Scantool mt2500 is i remember on an 80's GM car I had it could do realtime data logging, and that was OBD1.. Doesn't work on a Ford?
     
    #8
  9. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,784
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart

    You can not monitor sensors through the diagnostic port on Ford OBD1.
     
    #9

Share This Page