ECT sensor replacement/thermostat Q's

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by dbizzay, Dec 1, 2003.


  1. dbizzay

    dbizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    After pulling the codes on my car, I need to change my ECT sensor (engine coolant temperature sensor). Where is this sensor located? The guy who owned the care before me put in a cooler thermostat as well. Should I return to the stock stat when I install then new ECT sensor?


    Derek
     
    #1
  2. dbizzay

    dbizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    TTT - man, this thing got buried fast. :banana:
     
    #2
  3. cjones

    cjones Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    first, when you pulled the codes, was the engine at normal operating temp??

    you should not go below a 180* thermostat.

    the ECT is located on the top front right side of the engine. it has 2 wires on the connector.
     
    #3
  4. dbizzay

    dbizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Yup, I ran the test right after I'd driven the car for about 25 minutes.
    Thanks for the help!
     
    #4
  5. QCStang

    QCStang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
    Should be right on the top of the engine, there will be a connector on it to the harness. Looks like the ACT when you pull it out. You should be able to see coolant when you take it out.
     
    #5
  6. jjd975

    jjd975 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    4,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    louisville,kentucky
    Does your temp gauge work? I would think if that sensor is bad your gauge would show it.
     
    #6
  7. jerry beach

    jerry beach Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ocala,FL

    You must have misread what he wrote, judging by your huge post count. He is talking about the ECT sensor, not the temp. guage sending unit on the opposite side of the front of the intake. When the ECT goes bad the engine will not go into closed loop operation. My ECT's ohm out at 30ohms cold and 0 ohms hot. They complete the ciruit for closed loop operation when the engine warms up. Did you get any other codes? You will find the ECT on a steel water pipe on the pass. side front of the intake. As stated coolant will come out. Just have the new one ready and a rag to soak up spills.
     
    #7
  8. jjd975

    jjd975 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    4,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    louisville,kentucky
    LOL. Yes I did. I was wondering why someone mentioned it having 2 wires on it. I was thinking mine just has one. LOL. Thanks for seeing that and setting me straight.
     
    #8
  9. dbizzay

    dbizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    Thanks for all the help guys! Hopefully I dont get coolant on my polished valve covers!!

    As far as the thermostat, what temp is the stock one?
     
    #9
  10. dbizzay

    dbizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey
    One more Q, would the ****ty ECT be robbing me of any power? Or would it just be ****ing up my warm starts?
     
    #10
  11. cjones

    cjones Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    37
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    it could rob you of power. the computer uses that as well as other sensors for fuel mixture and timing.
     
    #11
  12. Michael Yount

    Michael Yount Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    77
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I'd get the ect working, and then see what happens to drivability before I messed with the t'stat. If it still appears to be running to cool, then you can explore the t'stat question.
     
    #12

Share This Page