Feelin' That Heat

90lxwhite

I'm kind of a She-Man
5 Year Member
Aug 25, 2011
Between the Red and Rio
Hey fellas ever since the ole 95 has been out of the paint booth she seems to be generating more heat in the cabin than before. I dunno if its due to the mach 1 chin spoiler or the hood insulation that they made me get. Car currently doesn't have a/c and the heat is just seeping through the vents She's not overheating but the gauge is running right about middle. Any ideas how to drop the temp a little without spending an arm and a leg? I don't really see a new hood in the near future, should've did it when it was getting painted but that ship has probably sailed. Does anyone have any ideas on how to make the dinky little hood vents functional as to let more heat escape?

mike

• Sponsors (?)

It's really funny you posted this. I just started painting a few of the trim pieces on my car black and I was just thinking the exact same thing when I realized these cars have fiberglass hoods. I was thinking if you cut some vents through the inner layer in the back of the hood that the side vents might create enough vacuum to actually pull some heat out of the engine bay. The air being forced in through the radiator would surely help push air out of these vents also. It may be worth a shot?

If I were to do it I think I would find a nice pic-a-part junk yard and go salvage some type of grille to put in the opening for a factory look.