Drivetrain Finding Tdc? / Identify Stock Cam

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by 5point0stang88, Sep 6, 2013.


  1. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Wow where you get it? Mine has dots and detail instructions.I got it from summit

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #21
  2. jAEded

    jAEded Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cali
    I think at the time I found it the cheapest at Roush-Yates. No dots on mine. I ended up buying a cheap $30 dollar timing set to make sure everything was lined up, then put on the hy-vo.
     
    #22
  3. jAEded

    jAEded Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cali
    Way overkill. But if you want why not? Its a cool chain. It runs silent.
     
    #23
  4. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    For the money that's crazy it had no marks, so did the engine rotate over when rotating the crank?and what it sound like when you started it up with catastrophic failure warning danger to manifold message popped up?



    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #24
  5. jAEded

    jAEded Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cali
    Haha... In hindsight - yeah. I felt the pistons hitting the valves. The cam must not have rotated very much because it wasn't hard to overcome. Lol, at the time I thought it was the compression..... Yeah.. I got some super compression now...:rlaugh:

    That's why unfortunately I now know so much about where everything is when it lines up right. After I got done freaking out that I would never get it back together correctly.
     
    #25
  6. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Lol Damn man
    Yeah from mistakes we learn. When I had the gear on, it was hard to line it up true dot with the idler trying to go in too, and I felt the valves hitting, like you said, wasn't much to overcome. but with the roller chain, it was much easier and turned over much easier, til I put the spark plugs in and can hear all the air being compressed

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #26
  7. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    I'm getting a new water pump
    FlowKooler 1660 - FlowKooler Mechanical Water Pump
    It is ccw, how do I make it run ccw, not sure the belt configuration for this

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #27
  8. Rick 91GT

    Rick 91GT SN Certified Technician Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    9,702
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    99
    Location:
    PA
    The stock rotation on a 5.0L is CCW....so you will use a stock belt wrap.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
     
    #28
  9. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Well Damn didn't know that lol thanks, can't wait

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #29

Share This Page