First Time Storage Questions? Help

SSWWRITE

Apr 25, 2003
OHIO
THIS IS MY FIRST TIME PUTTING A CAR UP FOR THE WINTER. 2001 COBRAA - 9500 MILES ON IT - PUT 2800 ON IT THIS SUMMER. DID NOT GET A CHANCE TO CHANGE OIL BEFORE COLD HIT.

SHOULD I START IT ONCEIN AWHILE? IF SO HOW OFTEN? OR JUST WAIT?

THANKS IN ADVANCE.

HURRY UP SPRING!!!!!!!!!!!!! :bang: :bang:

• Sponsors (?)

Eh, is there any way to change the oil? If so, I would strongly encourage it (although you can get by without doing so, if you can't get to it).
I would just prefer to have that old oil out of there, so that it has no chance of "gunking" up in the pan or filter, especially if you are due for an oil change.

As far as other storage suggestions go:
I would disconnect the battery, let it sit if you plan on a short winter (IE: if just 3-4 months?), top off the gas tank, add a few ounces of fuel stabilizer (Stabil) to the gas tank as well, place a box of baking soda in the interior to absorb moisture/odor, and not worry about too much else. If you were to store the car for a longer timeframe, I would then spray some fogging oil into each of the spark plug holes in addition to the above...that should cover the basics.

COBRA90GT said:
Eh, is there any way to change the oil? If so, I would strongly encourage it (although you can get by without doing so, if you can't get to it).
I would just prefer to have that old oil out of there, so that it has no chance of "gunking" up in the pan or filter, especially if you are due for an oil change.

As far as other storage suggestions go: